Results 1 to 6 of 6
Like Tree5Likes
  • 1 Post By Razorfeld
  • 1 Post By WW243
  • 1 Post By Wirm
  • 1 Post By WW243
  • 1 Post By Benjisco

Thread: opinions?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    67
    Thanked: 2

    Default opinions?

    Good morning chaps

    Iv just been browsing ebay and come across this.
    USA Made TORREY Massachusetts STRAIGHT RAZOR 100% SHAVE READY! GREAT SHAVER! | eBay

    Could I have your opinions/concerns

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Moderator Razorfeld's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Forest Grove, Oregon
    Posts
    4,619
    Thanked: 969

    Default

    I'm a little concerned with the hype the seller gets into. It's obvious it's his standard approach. While a lot of detail is given, and not far off actual in most cases, I'm not convinced. Especially where he extols canned foam soap. My main concern is how too clean and polished the razor looks. He doesn't seem to explain his reconditioning process, other than to go into great lengths on honing. If you have the money to spare and are very curious, since Torrey is an acknowledge American razor go for it. It might be great or a learning experience. Note: I checked and it is not postage free to the UK, so there is that cost on top of the razor cost, whatever the final bid.
    Benjisco likes this.
    "The sharpening stones from time to time provide officers with gasoline."

  3. #3
    Fatty Boom Boom WW243's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Rockville
    Posts
    3,258
    Thanked: 637

    Default

    There is a hellish amount of pitting which is cosmetic I guess. Something looks a little funny around the pins which I don't understand, why the circle outside the washer?
    To me it looks like very little hone wear. The bevel looks ok as far as what the photos reveal...maybe an issue near the toe, but that could just be the light.
    Benjisco likes this.
    "Call me Ishmael"
    CUTS LANE WOOL HAIR LIKE A Saus-AGE!

  4. #4
    Senior Member Wirm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    West Virginia
    Posts
    605
    Thanked: 283

    Default

    I would guess that the razor has been unpinned and passed over a buffer at some point to clean up the obvious corrosion on the tang and toe . The ring around the pin is the impression left from the previous larger washer.
    Benjisco likes this.
    "It is easier keeping a razor honed than honing a razor."

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Wirm For This Useful Post:

    WW243 (10-25-2015)

  6. #5
    Fatty Boom Boom WW243's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Rockville
    Posts
    3,258
    Thanked: 637

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Wirm View Post
    I would guess that the razor has been unpinned and passed over a buffer at some point to clean up the obvious corrosion on the tang and toe . The ring around the pin is the impression left from the previous larger washer.
    Something still seems kind of funny. If the razor was unpinned, why leave all the gunk around the pins? And why is the large washer only on the wedge pin? I agree, it looks to be aggressively buffed. The buffing seems recent but the pins look like they were done some time ago.
    Last edited by WW243; 10-25-2015 at 03:39 PM.
    Benjisco likes this.
    "Call me Ishmael"
    CUTS LANE WOOL HAIR LIKE A Saus-AGE!

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    67
    Thanked: 2

    Default

    Thanks gentlemen, maybe I'll give it a miss this time then
    zigi likes this.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •