Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 30
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Mini-review: 5 scuttles

  1. #1
    (John Ayers in SRP Facebook Group) CaliforniaCajun's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Lafayette, LA
    Posts
    1,542
    Thanked: 270

    Default Mini-review: 5 scuttles

    Part 1 of 5 in evaluating scuttles. They all work well, and the final decision should be a matter of personal taste. I heated 3 cups of water in my microwave oven for 4 minutes for a temperature of 165 degrees F. The water is then poured into the scuttle to test heat retention.





    Fast Facts:

    • Purchase Price: $13.00
    • Purchased from: Robert Becker's ebay store
    • Special features: lid (to keep soaps moist between shaves)
    • Reservoir capacity: 7 3/4 ounces
    • Primary strength: performs as well as much more expensive scuttles
    • Primary weakness: inside diameter of lathering area restricts you to a brush of 22mm or smaller



    Heat retention (165-degree water initially introduced into scuttle):

    • After 5 minutes: 145 degrees F
    • After 10 minutes: 140 degrees F
    • After 15 minutes: 134 degrees F
    • After 20 minutes: 130 degrees F
    • After 25 minutes: 130 degrees F



    Dimensions of scuttle:

    • Height: 4" (without lid)
    • Base width: 2 1/8"
    • Width on top: 3 1/2" (4 1/2 with spout)
    • Inside diameter of lathering area: 2 13/16"
    • Depth of lathering area: 3 1/8"
    • Texture of lathering surface: cross hatched

    Straight razor shaver and loving it!
    40-year survivor of electric and multiblade razors

  2. The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to CaliforniaCajun For This Useful Post:

    Alembic (08-10-2010), HNSB (07-07-2010), Jerry01 (07-08-2010), ShavedZombie (07-05-2010), thewatermark (07-05-2010), Vulcan500rider (07-09-2010), wdwrx (07-05-2010)

  3. #2
    (John Ayers in SRP Facebook Group) CaliforniaCajun's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Lafayette, LA
    Posts
    1,542
    Thanked: 270

    Default

    Part 2 of 5 in evaluating scuttles. They all work well, and the final decision should be a matter of personal taste. I heated 3 cups of water in my microwave oven for 4 minutes for a temperature of 165 degrees F. The water is then poured into the scuttle to test heat retention.





    Fast Facts:

    • Purchase Price: $45.00
    • Purchased from: Georgetown Pottery
    • Special features: distinctive multi-color design, stopper
    • Reservoir capacity: 6 1/2 ounces
    • Primary strength: stopper (allows you to fill and soak the brush in the lathering area without changing reservoir water)
    • Primary weakness: heat retention in comparison to others (but then, how long does it take to shave?)



    Heat retention (165-degree water initially introduced into scuttle):

    • After 5 minutes: 130 degrees F
    • After 10 minutes: 120 degrees F
    • After 15 minutes: 120 degrees F
    • After 20 minutes: 117 degrees F
    • After 25 minutes: 115 degrees F



    Dimensions of scuttle:

    • Height: 3"
    • Base width: 3"
    • Width on top: 5 3/16" (5 3/4 with spout)
    • Inside diameter of lathering area: 3 1/4"
    • Depth of lathering area: 2 3/8"
    • Texture of lathering surface: cross hatched

    Straight razor shaver and loving it!
    40-year survivor of electric and multiblade razors

  4. The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to CaliforniaCajun For This Useful Post:

    Alembic (08-10-2010), Jerry01 (07-08-2010), ShavedZombie (07-05-2010), thewatermark (07-05-2010), Vulcan500rider (07-09-2010)

  5. #3
    (John Ayers in SRP Facebook Group) CaliforniaCajun's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Lafayette, LA
    Posts
    1,542
    Thanked: 270

    Default

    Part 3 of 5 in evaluating scuttles. They all work well, and the final decision should be a matter of personal taste. I heated 3 cups of water in my microwave oven for 4 minutes for a temperature of 165 degrees F. The water is then poured into the scuttle to test heat retention.





    Fast Facts:

    • Purchase Price: $65.00 (for this special "waterfall" pattern, other large Moss scuttles are $55.00)
    • Purchased from: Sara Bonnyman Pottery
    • Special features:
    • Reservoir capacity: 11 3/4 ounces
    • Primary strength:
    • Primary weakness:



    Heat retention (165-degree water initially introduced into scuttle):

    • After 5 minutes: 144 degrees F
    • After 10 minutes: 135 degrees F
    • After 15 minutes: 135 degrees F
    • After 20 minutes: 130 degrees F
    • After 25 minutes: 128 degrees F



    Dimensions of scuttle:

    • Height: 3 1/2"
    • Base width: 3 7/16"
    • Width on top: 4 1/2" (5" with spout)
    • Inside diameter of lathering area: 3"
    • Depth of lathering area: 2 1/2"
    • Texture of lathering surface: none, other than the fact that the surface is somewhat rougher.

    Straight razor shaver and loving it!
    40-year survivor of electric and multiblade razors

  6. The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to CaliforniaCajun For This Useful Post:

    Alembic (08-10-2010), Jerry01 (07-08-2010), ShavedZombie (07-05-2010), thewatermark (07-05-2010), Vulcan500rider (07-09-2010), wdwrx (07-05-2010)

  7. #4
    (John Ayers in SRP Facebook Group) CaliforniaCajun's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Lafayette, LA
    Posts
    1,542
    Thanked: 270

    Default

    Part 4 of 5 in evaluating scuttles. They all work well, and the final decision should be a matter of personal taste. I heated 3 cups of water in my microwave oven for 4 minutes for a temperature of 165 degrees F. The water is then poured into the scuttle to test heat retention.

    Note: if this looks familiar to you, it is similar to the scuttle used by Chimensch in his 30th Anniversary shaving video (Shaving Mugs and Shaving Scuttles by Ansgar of Schwarzweisskeramik). His is the large, and the scuttle we are examining here is the small version. FYI, "Schwarzweisskeramik" translates into Schwarz (Black) - Weiss (White) - Keramik (Ceramics) .





    Fast Facts:

    • Purchase Price: $95.00
    • Purchased from: Mama Bear's Soaps
    • Special features: large spout area can be used to wet the brush (nearly 2" wide, 1 1/2" deep), lathering area 4" wide,
    • Reservoir capacity: 15 ounces
    • Primary strength: wide brush wetting area and wide lathering area
    • Primary weakness: highest price among those evaluated by a substantial margin



    Heat retention (165-degree water initially introduced into scuttle):

    • After 5 minutes: 145 degrees F
    • After 10 minutes: 139 degrees F
    • After 15 minutes: 133 degrees F
    • After 20 minutes: 130 degrees F
    • After 25 minutes: 125 degrees F



    Dimensions of scuttle:

    • Height: 4"
    • Base width: 2 3/4"
    • Width on top: 5 1/4" (7 1/2" with spout)
    • Inside diameter of lathering area: 4"
    • Depth of lathering area: 2 5/8"
    • Texture of lathering surface: concentric circles at the bottom (smooth along the side).

    Straight razor shaver and loving it!
    40-year survivor of electric and multiblade razors

  8. The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to CaliforniaCajun For This Useful Post:

    Jerry01 (07-08-2010), ShavedZombie (07-05-2010), thewatermark (07-05-2010), Vulcan500rider (07-09-2010), wdwrx (07-05-2010)

  9. #5
    (John Ayers in SRP Facebook Group) CaliforniaCajun's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Lafayette, LA
    Posts
    1,542
    Thanked: 270

    Default

    Part 5 of 5 in evaluating scuttles. They all work well, and the final decision should be a matter of personal taste. I heated 3 cups of water in my microwave oven for 4 minutes for a temperature of 165 degrees F. The water is then poured into the scuttle to test heat retention.

    Note: in communicating with members, this one seems to have received the most favorable comments. Some have, and some haven't, had experience with the other scuttles.





    Fast Facts:

    • Purchase Price: $54.00
    • Purchased from: Dirty Bird Pottery
    • Special features:
    • Reservoir capacity: 13.5 ounces
    • Primary strength: wide lathering area
    • Primary weakness:



    Heat retention (165-degree water initially introduced into scuttle):

    • After 5 minutes: 143 degrees F
    • After 10 minutes: 138 degrees F
    • After 15 minutes: 133 degrees F
    • After 20 minutes: 130 degrees F
    • After 25 minutes: 125 degrees F



    Dimensions of scuttle:

    • Height: 3 3/8"
    • Base width: 4 7/16"
    • Width on top: 5 9/16" (6 5/8" with spout)
    • Inside diameter of lathering area: 4 5/16"
    • Depth of lathering area: 2 1/2"
    • Texture of lathering surface: an endless string starting at the bottom, winding its way to the top

    Straight razor shaver and loving it!
    40-year survivor of electric and multiblade razors

  10. The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to CaliforniaCajun For This Useful Post:

    12halfshell (07-07-2010), Alembic (08-10-2010), Jerry01 (07-08-2010), Pops! (07-05-2010), ShavedZombie (07-05-2010), thewatermark (07-05-2010), Vulcan500rider (07-09-2010), wdwrx (07-05-2010)

  11. #6
    GUNG-HO FOR GENCOS thewatermark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Los Angeles,CA
    Posts
    903
    Thanked: 1390

    Default

    Thanks for the time u took to do that, it is much appreciated . As a self proclaimed scuttle enthusiast i must say that my dirtybird is what i use the most, only because i dont have the Moss scuttle yet , and i dont really like my G5 as much, but it is certainly pretty, and looking at that Robert Becker is making my SCAD act up. For 13 bucks why not?

  12. #7
    < Banned User >
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Medina, Ohio
    Posts
    1,286
    Thanked: 529

    Default

    An excellent series of posts, and very well formatted... Great job..

    Might I be so bold as to ask why you have so many scuttles?

  13. #8
    Indisposed
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    6,038
    Thanked: 1193

    Default

    Thanks for the scuttle write-ups/comparisons, CaliforniaCajun. I don't own one yet, so it's nice to see some product comparisons in such a nice and efficient format. Well done.

    Ryan

  14. #9
    Steel crazy after all these years RayG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    1,410
    Thanked: 937

    Default

    My small Moss scuttle was the single smartest shaving purchase I have ever made. I use it everyday. Thanks for the comprehensive review.

  15. #10
    Senior Member Pops!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA.
    Posts
    1,653
    Thanked: 275

    Default

    my goodness i want a scuttle.. thank you very much for the reviews.. i'd most like the dirtybird.. mostly aesthetics..

    however.. i think i'm deep down just a face latherer when it is all said and done.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •