Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
Like Tree23Likes

Thread: leather razor case opinions

  1. #1
    Senior Member tintin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    archbold ohio
    Posts
    1,236
    Thanked: 309

    Default leather razor case opinions

    Not sure if this is the right place to show this and i might be pushing the rules a bit but i need your opinions. I have been working on a leather straight razor case and would like your ideas/thoughts on the design. My goal was to make a case that fits most razors. This means that some will be a bit sloppy if they are on the small size. Should i make more than one size? if you were shopping for a razor case would this bother you? Here is what i have so far.
    All opinions welcome.
    Name:  IMG_0761.jpg
Views: 143
Size:  52.2 KBName:  IMG_0762.jpg
Views: 134
Size:  48.8 KBName:  IMG_0763.jpg
Views: 127
Size:  57.8 KB

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to tintin For This Useful Post:

    ScoutHikerDad (06-17-2017)

  3. #2
    Moderator Hirlau's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    13,423
    Thanked: 3454

    Default

    I like it. If the razor is a bit small, the owner can always stuff some cotton balls or cloth in the bottom.

  4. #3
    Senior Moderator JimmyHAD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    32,559
    Thanked: 11012

    Default

    Looks very like the cases Theirs-Issard furnished with their razors, maybe still do. I don't store razors in leather personally. A prejudice carrying over from handguns in holsters, and knives in sheaths being subject to corrosion if stored that way. I have been curious if it could be an issue with razors since I bought my first TI years ago, but not curious enough to try it.

    Neil Miller once posted one of his many educational posts on leather, where he said there was a difference in the properties of vegetable tanned, and chrome (?) tanned leather, with the former being safe to store razors in, and the latter not ........... IIRC .........
    32t, BobH and Mrchick like this.
    Be careful how you treat people on your way up, you may meet them again on your way back down.

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Pompano Beach, FL
    Posts
    1,769
    Thanked: 408

    Default

    Personally I do not like leather razor cases. They hold moisture and the tanning chemicals can affect the razor. But the work is beautiful.
    dinnermint likes this.

  6. #5
    Senior Member tintin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    archbold ohio
    Posts
    1,236
    Thanked: 309

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JimmyHAD View Post
    Looks very like the cases Theirs-Issard furnished with their razors, maybe still do. I don't store razors in leather personally. A prejudice carrying over from handguns in holsters, and knives in sheaths being subject to corrosion if stored that way. I have been curious if it could be an issue with razors since I bought my first TI years ago, but not curious enough to try it.

    Neil Miller once posted one of his many educational posts on leather, where he said there was a difference in the properties of vegetable tanned, and chrome (?) tanned leather, with the former being safe to store razors in, and the latter not ........... IIRC .........
    I have read some of those posts and my thoughts are thus: it is veg. tanned so it doesn't have acids that some other tanning methods do. I have a pistol that's been stored in it's holster for years and no sign of rust. I think it's more of a environment issue that causes rust than the leather. if it's damp where it is stored than it will retain moisture. if it's in a damp place than it will rust no matter what it's stored in.
    I'm going to store a razor in this case and see what happens. (could be a while so stay tuned). In the mean time i'll say they are for transportation and short term storage.
    thanks for your thoughts.
    JimmyHAD and Mrchick like this.

  7. #6
    Senior Member tintin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    archbold ohio
    Posts
    1,236
    Thanked: 309

    Default

    Oh, i tried to make it unique from other cases on the market (not quite like TI) this is molded leather so it is rather rigid and offers more protection than a soft case.
    Mrchick likes this.

  8. #7
    Senior Moderator JimmyHAD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    32,559
    Thanked: 11012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tintin View Post
    Should i make more than one size? if you were shopping for a razor case would this bother you?
    I think a case that corresponds with the size of the razor would be more attractive to me than one that was too large or on the snug side. Since it seems to be a hand made custom type of endeavour why not make a large, medium and a small, based on average razor sizes, and wait for orders to see what is most popular?
    Be careful how you treat people on your way up, you may meet them again on your way back down.

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to JimmyHAD For This Useful Post:

    tintin (06-17-2017)

  10. #8
    Senior Member ZipZop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Honolulu
    Posts
    702
    Thanked: 157

    Default

    Aloha!

    Nice work, sir. Very nice, IMO. Anything artisan I find beautiful. I think the design is just fine. If you are doing this for yourself, I personally might add some knurling or design around the edges and/or your initials in a monogram form on the front or on the flap, but for mass production, it's a functional case. I just bought a few from Amazon for travel. Sure wouldn't mind a hand-made artisan case. But my leather-working is as bad as my drawing. And I have trouble drawing stick people in proportion.

    Mahalo!

    -ZipZop
    "I get some lather and lather-up, then I get my razor and shave! Zip Zop, see that? My face Is ripped to shreads!" - Bill Cosby on Shaving

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to ZipZop For This Useful Post:

    tintin (06-17-2017)

  12. #9
    Senior Member blabbermouth RezDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Haida Gwaii, British Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    9,143
    Thanked: 2750

    Default

    Well it is the first razor case that seems attractive to me, perhaps because of the toe pincher style combined with the rigid formed case. It looks good. Perhaps you could make small medium and large cases. Large to blade an inch and higher, medium for blades 5/8 to 7/8 and a small one for 5/8 and smaller. Or even just the two. I have no idea how much work that might be.
    It's not what you know, it's who you take fishing!

  13. #10
    32t
    32t is online now
    Senior Member blabbermouth 32t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    3 miles west of randydance062449
    Posts
    5,595
    Thanked: 738

    Default

    Could you add some sheepskin lining to make up for different sizes?

    I realize that could add to some possible moisture problems but protect the scales from movement......
    Hirlau likes this.
    "Let fear push you. Not slow you down."

    Tim

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •