Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Ellis website infected.

  1. #1
    www.MercConsulting.com FastEdge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    163
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 36 Times in 18 Posts

    Default Ellis website infected.

    I just tried to go to the Ellis website and got this warning.

    Reported Attack Site!

    This web site at elliscustomknifeworks.hightemptools.com has been reported as an attack site and has been blocked based on your security preferences.

    Attack sites try to install programs that steal private information, use your computer to attack others, or damage your system.

    Some attack sites intentionally distribute harmful software, but many are compromised without the knowledge or permission of their owners.


    What the heck?!?!? Does anyone know how to contact the site owner and let them know what's going on? I don't suggest going to the site to email them. Perhaps if someone knows the email already or perhaps has a phone number the owner can be alerted to this.

    Thanks,

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Fort Wayne, IN
    Posts
    141
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 43 Times in 22 Posts

    Default

    email: Info atsymbolgoeshere EllisCustomKnifeworks.com

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Essex, UK
    Posts
    1,357
    Thanks
    162
    Thanked 834 Times in 453 Posts

    Default

    A thing like this happened some weeks ago - it only lasted a short time, but everything I googled was blocked. I asked a few friends to try it and they had the same problem. In that particular case it was the inclusion of some flash-based ads that had been uploaded to websites or to sites linked to them - the ads were identified as malicious content and the sites were blocked.

    Regards,
    Neil

  4. #4
    www.MercConsulting.com FastEdge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    163
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 36 Times in 18 Posts

    Default

    Interesting Niel. I wrote to the email provided. I hope they can do something about it. I'm sure they will.

  5. #5
    Still Stone Crazy After All :-( JimmyHAD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    18,091
    Thanks
    2,124
    Thanked 6,733 Times in 4,070 Posts

    Default

    I had it happen trying to go to NPR a couple of weeks ago. In a day or two it was cleared up.

  6. #6
    Vintage Scent shop clerk Leon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Porto, Portugal
    Posts
    993
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 617 Times in 135 Posts

    Default

    Yep, been there, done that.

    My site was also attacked a while ago and even after I removed quickly the malicious script, google takes a few days to clear the flag on the site and in the meantime the browser still "thinks" the site is dangerous, while in fact it is no more.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    1,189
    Thanks
    106
    Thanked 242 Times in 197 Posts

    Default

    Just tried it and it is clear.

    R

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •