Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
Like Tree31Likes

Thread: Qshave (futur clone) review

  1. #1
    NZ's okayest dad 1997 Grazor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Land of the long white cloud
    Posts
    2,465
    Thanked: 501

    Default Qshave (futur clone) review

    Bored............................................. .......

    Nothing much happening razor related lately, so decided to give one of these a go.

    Sold my Merkur futur recently. Typical German engineering, almost impossible to fault. I just never used it, too many razors.

    Not sure how they do it, but I couldn't send this razor by courier within New Zealand for what the whole thing cost delivered from China.

    Delivery was not bad at 18 days, tracking was good, very good...
    In fact within 8 hours of it arriving, I have had 2 emails and 1 app request to confirm delivery. "Why you no confirm derivery? You got lazor, comfirm derivery! Hully up, we know you got lazor...."


    Name:  qshave.jpg
Views: 201
Size:  42.7 KB



    ...Yeah, it's here. Hold your horses...

    Build looks OK, lighter than the Futur. Satin coating is different, may not last as long.

    So the included shaving brush as seen in photo was no good at all, would not make a decent lather, believe me I tried..

    Popped a blade in that came with the razor and checked alignment, apparently an issue with some of them, looked fine.

    Lathered up and started at 1st setting, too low. Turned it up to 2, not bad on three days growth.
    Second pass on 3, nice. Third pass set on 4, surprisingly good.

    Have tried a few Chinese razors now including one made of gold that cost a dollar, and they have all been below average to put it mildly. This is a good razor for those on a budget, even the included blades seem to perform well. Hardly ever use a DE these days, but it was a fun experiment.

    Please note, I am not affiliated with the seller in any way. Don't speak one word of Chinese, have never dated an asian lady..(dammit)..although I must admit I do like a good sweet and sour pork or beef black bean every now and again...
    Geezer, sharptonn, 32t and 6 others like this.
    Into this house we're born, into this world we're thrown ~ Jim Morrison

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to Grazor For This Useful Post:

    markbignosekelly (10-25-2017)

  3. #2
    Senior Member Maladroit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Sunshine Coast, Australia
    Posts
    514
    Thanked: 120

    Default

    See how it goes with an Astra or a Feather: if it's good with one of the Chinese ones it should be great with a top line blade. On the other hand, the Chinese blades it shipped with might be great - try one of them in an old Gillette and see how they go - they'd have to be cheaper than Feathers.
    Porl likes this.

  4. #3
    NZ's okayest dad 1997 Grazor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Land of the long white cloud
    Posts
    2,465
    Thanked: 501

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Maladroit View Post
    See how it goes with an Astra or a Feather: if it's good with one of the Chinese ones it should be great with a top line blade. On the other hand, the Chinese blades it shipped with might be great - try one of them in an old Gillette and see how they go - they'd have to be cheaper than Feathers.
    I had a vintage "Australian" made Gillette platinum plus blade out to try in this razor. Hurts to say this,,, but possibly one of the best DE blades I have ever used. 6-7 shaves no problem.
    In light that it is a review, decided to go with included blades. Fairly aggressive razor, wouldn't recommend a feather for a new user. Astra would be a good choice.
    Geezer likes this.
    Into this house we're born, into this world we're thrown ~ Jim Morrison

  5. #4
    Senior Member blabbermouth
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    12,973
    Thanked: 2272

    Default

    Thanks for the entertaining review. It went well with my morning coffee and started the day off on the right foot with a few laughs.

    Bob
    After listening to someone talk ever wonder who ties their shoe laces?

  6. #5
    Senior Member Porl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Penistone, just north of Sheffield UK
    Posts
    690
    Thanked: 122

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BobH View Post
    Thanks for the entertaining review. It went well with my morning coffee and started the day off on the right foot with a few laughs.

    Bob
    You have to be careful drinking coffee and laughing at the same time Bob!

    Nice review Grazor thanks for sharing. I think I saw a video on these on YouTube too but it was made by someone selling them so I always take those reviews with a pinch of salt. I might consider one for my travel bag now.
    Geezer, BobH and Grazor like this.
    Fact: Opinions are not the same as facts... Well, that's my opinion anyway

  7. #6
    Senior Member blabbermouth Geezer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    EauClaire,WI
    Posts
    6,340
    Thanked: 3007
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Thanks, will give it a try!
    ~Richard (Old phart with sometimes shaky hands)
    Be yourself; everyone else is already taken.
    - Oscar Wilde

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Sunderland
    Posts
    186
    Thanked: 26

    Default

    Thats a crazy coincidence! i ordered one of these last night but it was the ming-shi futur clone, i ordered it for a pretty similar reason too, at the price it would have been rude not to have a little play about with it.
    Grazor likes this.

  9. #8
    NZ's okayest dad 1997 Grazor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Land of the long white cloud
    Posts
    2,465
    Thanked: 501

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Geezer View Post
    Thanks, will give it a try!
    ~Richard (Old phart with sometimes shaky hands)
    Hope you like it Geezer.Did read some have alignment issues, but this one is OK.

    Just shaved again with it set on 4 and a vintage Wilkinson blade, BBS in 3...
    Into this house we're born, into this world we're thrown ~ Jim Morrison

  10. #9
    Senior Member blabbermouth Geezer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    EauClaire,WI
    Posts
    6,340
    Thanked: 3007
    Blog Entries
    1

    Thumbs up

    Mine came yesterday and, today, gave me a darn good shave in two passes. Good value, in my opinion! My normal FatBoy setting is 7 and I got a similar shave at 3 on the Qshave with my regular Hospital Blue Personna's.
    And, I bought a cheap "Omega" synthetic brush. It performs well on hard soaps and gave me plenty of lather from a 1940's puck. Again good value for someone wanting to try a synthetic.
    Thanks for the possibilities!
    ~Richard
    Last edited by Geezer; 10-25-2017 at 03:30 PM.
    Be yourself; everyone else is already taken.
    - Oscar Wilde

  11. #10
    Senior Member Porl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Penistone, just north of Sheffield UK
    Posts
    690
    Thanked: 122

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Geezer View Post
    a 1940's puck.
    ~Richard
    A 1940's puck! Did I read that right?

    As for synthetic brushes I bought a Razorock BC Silvertip synthetic about a month ago and have used it almost exclusively since. It really is a good brush. Maybe not as good on hard soaps as a boar brush but it performs very well and dries in no time flat making it excellent for travel.
    Geezer likes this.
    Fact: Opinions are not the same as facts... Well, that's my opinion anyway

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •